Newsprint Nails

newsprint

I don’t do my nails too often because for some reason I just find it to be super tedious and honestly I am not very good at doing my own nails at all. But when I do do my nails, I do it up and get into it.

Today I decided to share with you guys the newsprint nails I have done!

Here is what you will need!

IMG_0001

  • A top coat
  • A light colored nail polish   –It can be any color as long as you will be able to see the black letters on top of it, I used Sally Hanson’s “breezy blue”
  • Nail polish remover and cotton balls just in case you need to remove anything
  • A bowl
  • Water
  • Newspaper or magazine (whatever  is handy, both work well!)
  • Scissors

Optional, if you want feel like doing a full on manicure:

  • Nail clippers
  • Cuticle  cream
  • Nail buffer
  • Nail file

 

Alrighty then, let’s jump right in!

This is a lot easier than I thought it would be and does not take that long either!

First thing you do is to prep your nails (cut, file ect..) and then go ahead and paint them any color you choose. I did three coats but it depends really on the brand and color and all that jazz. Use your best judgement and follow your heart. 😉

Once you finish painting them, this part is really important, especially for me… Do Nothing! Thats right just leave your hands there and let then dry. Literally every single time I do my nails, including today I get way too impatient and end up messing them up and having to fix them and its so not fun.

Once your nailys are dry, look through your magazine (or newspaper) and look for a large chunk of text and take the scissors and cut 10 rectangles out. Make sure they are larger than your nail.

Fill the bowl with some water and then soak those rectangles! Let them submerge in the water, text down until it is soaked all the way through the paper.

One bIMG_0002y one, put them onto each nail and apply slight pressure for about 10 seconds and then slowly and carefully peel off. The words should be left on the nail!  I was so excited when it worked it was so cool. It is so different and you will totally be the coolest kid on the block. hehe.

After you finished applying the rectangles to each nail, add the top coat. Adding the top coat is really important because the letters can rub off easily.

I hope you liked my newsprint nails and let me know what you thought!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Newsprint Nails

Leave a Reply

