Operating Systems

Hello Everyone!

As most of you know now I am going to college and studying computer information systems. Honestly, I love it a lot. Changing my major was such a good decision for me. I really like the classes I am taking and the people who are around me and somehow, I feel more confident, so that’s pretty cool.

This is something that I have been wanting to say for a little while now and I am finally just going  to say it, because it baffles me.

Why are people so passionate about operating systems?

Since I have entered this major I have came across/became more aware of people who passionately love//hate certain operating systems. I don’t really understand why is is such a huge deal.

Each of the different ones have their pros and cons and I get that everyone has their  preferences, but I have seen some pretty heated arguments.

Here are some of the most popular ones out there:

  • Windows
  • Mac iOS
  • Linux
  • And now one of the newest, Chrome OS
  • Plus more..

Throughout my entire life, basically as long as I could remember I have used Windows. I liked it a lot, but it was really the only thing I knew.  In the beginning of this year (March 2014), I bought my first Macbook and I love it so much. I like how fast it is and just the whole system as a whole, I like how files are organized and the dock and the search bar and the loading spinning wheel. I think it is really practical and ergonomically to use, especially being a college student.

That being said, I am comfortable using every single one of them listed above and will happily use anything that you put in front of me because I just like to computer. haha. But really though, I think that being versatile is very important, especially being a computer student, because you never know what company you will end up working for. Knowing the ins and outs of each of them are super important.

Hopefully is isn’t just me who has noticed this or has even been a part of this argument before. Let me know in the comments below what your opinion is!

Happy friday guys!

2 thoughts on “Operating Systems

  1. The arguments over OS are a disguise for the uncomfortable fact that most people resist change of any kind and are intellectually lazy. They automatically assume that whatever they know already is “the best”, and get testy if you try and examine the issue objectively. People love what they are familiar with, and fear what they don’t know. It’s the same habit that creates American exceptionalism and religious fundamentalism.

Leave a Reply

