Glasses Aren’t Trendy

IMG_1859

 

This is something that has bothered me for a while now and I think it is time for me to talk about it.

Glasses are for helping the visually impaired people (like myself) see.

That’s it.

They may come in cool frames or styles or whatever, but I would never consider classes to be a fashion accessory.

I remember in third grade, I struggled because I “couldn’t see”.  My teacher called my mother because she realized that I was squinting a lot in class struggling to read the materials. My mom made me an appointment to and then I had to get glasses. Ughhh..

See, the thing is when your vision isn’t 20/20 you don’t realize it until someone else tells you that that’s not how the world really is, especially if you’re a child like me at the time and that is all that you know.

When I got my first pair of glasses I was shocked by how much more clear the world around me is, I couldn’t believe what I had been missing out on! This still even happens to me now, since apparently my eyes like to get worse and worse every time I go to the optometrist and I get a new prescription and the world is suddenly more clear than it was before.

Other than the whole seeing part was super cook, the rest of wearing glasses in school when I was younger was not fun.

Wearing glasses back then instantly made you a “nerd”. I could think of about ten other reasons why I am a “nerd” and wearing glasses isn’t one of them.

That whole entire stereotype bothers me so muchI don’t even think that it should exist.

Anyway, now, and when I was in high school, it is a cool thing to dress up as a nerd.

  1. You’re mocking them and that’s not cool.
  2. You look nothing like a nerd you’re just wearing glasses with pigtails and suspenders, and I mean common, no one wears that!
  3. There are a lot more to them by just the way they look, and are perhaps some of the most powerful people in the world.

A while ago,  my younger cousin got a pair of glasses just because fashion, similar to the ones in the picture above, which I took at an accessory store.  Those are the kind where there are nothing inside the frame, just clear plastic. She got them just for the pure reason of being able to fit in with her peers. People wear them to be trendy and I think it isn’t cool. Why would you want those on your face for no reason?

Maybe because I had to deal with them my whole life or maybe I am not the only one who feels this way but I think it is super annoying that somehow wearing glasses can be both shameful and glorified at the same time.

Let me know what you think I would love to hear about it.

One thought on “Glasses Aren’t Trendy

  1. It’s not shameful, dear. 🙂
    I find people who wear glasses (not for fashion) very respectable. Yeah, your lot, for me, is not the subject for mocking or bullying whatsoever. You guys unwittingly demand people’s respect. 🙂 So it’s not really shameful, not even a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

