DIY Zombie Shirt

Hello guys, so this is the first year in quite a while that I decided to dress up for halloween. I chose to be a zombie, because why not?

As I was making my shirt it reminded me more and more of the people from The Walking Dead (which I am obsessed with) rather than an actual zombie, so maybe I’ll just be a apocalypse survivor?  I don’t know man, all I know is that it came out really awesome so here’s what I did.

 

IMG_1876

 

Here is what you will need:

  • A plain white T shirt
  • Scissors
  • Tweezers
  • Bowl and spoon
  • Water
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Red Food Coloring

The first thing you need to do is to cut the shirt. (if you so choose)

I cut along the seems on the bottom of the shirt and also along the collar part. I thought that it gave it a more beat up “I am a zombie fighter/actual zombie” look.  I then cut slits in the shirt to make it look like it was torn.

Once the cuts and slits are made, use the tweezers to pull on the fabric and it will give you a distressed look. The more you do it the better it will look. I did this “cutting and tweezing” part while watching Cut Throat Kitchen on Netflix like a cool kid, so you can see that it will take as long as you want it to.

IMG_1876_Fotor

Onto the fun part, THE BLOOD.

I saw a bunch of DIY blood recipes and read about how they each achieve a kind of look depending on what you wanted to do. They all have a bunch of the same ingridents but I did this because I had all of the things and I thought that it would look best. (and it did!)

In a bowl, pour in some water (about a cup) and then add in a teaspoon of cocoa powder and then mix into the water. It will take a minute or two to for all of the cocoa powder to dissolve into the water, but don’t worry it will. Once you decide that it is basically done, add in some red food coloring, 6 drops to be exact. (or until you are pleased with the color.

Hurray! It’s done.

I hung my shirt on the clothesline in my basement and dipped my fingers into the “blood” and applied it around the slits and anywhere else I wanted.

I also dipped in my fingers and flicked the “blood” onto my shirt Jackson Pollock style.

And that’s basically it! After I took the picture, I added some more because it was so fun to do.

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Zombie Shirt

Leave a Reply

