The Testing: Book Review

 

Last week, one of the books that I read was the testing. I thought that the book was pretty decent. I finished it in like two days so its safe to say that it was able to hold me attention all the way through.The actual plot of the plot was really good and quite interesting to think about.

Here is the summary from Joelle Charbonneau’s website:

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say?
But how close is too close when they may be one in the same?  

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it.  But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career.

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies – trust no one.

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every grueling (and deadly) day of the Testing. To survive, Cia must choose:  love without truth or life without trust

Since it is a dystopian book though, there were a few similarities with other books. If you liked the Hunger Games and Divergent then you would like this. However, The Testing is still able to stand on its own and is adventurous and has plenty of twists and turns that wasn’t expected. I remembered reading this one part and I was so shocked by what had just happened that I had to take a moment to process it.

The one thing that I didn’t really like about this books was that the characters were poorly developed and if there’s one thing I love about reading its a book with awesome character development. I mean, like it was okay, but there wasn’t a time where I could relate to the main character other than her to stress as she was going through the testing.

As for the other characters and her friends, we really don’t learn much about them at all other than the fact that they are also in the testing. Maybe it was done intentionally so that it would add to all of the stress of the setting, if you think of it that way it is not that bad.

Other than that I really liked the book as a whole. I really liked the setting and how the world was basically dead from the war and how it is set in the future. Even though the setting was so different from the world we live in now, it’s not unrealistic, I am still able to imagine that it is something that the world could possibly turn into as sad as it is.

Their government and the values that come along with it is really interesting and different from anything I have ever read.

I definitely am going to end up finishing the trilogy as soon as I can, I feel like it is something that can only get better from here. I recommend reading this trilogy to all of you guys to read too!

Let me know what you thought of The Testing in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “The Testing: Book Review

  1. Hmmm the university thing totally took me off guard; I’ve never heard of a dystopian society story with universities lol. But it sounds interesting! I might just give it a try; although the character development thing might be a downfall for me too.

    • yeah, it is interesting Cia works her whole life to get in and once she does it gets pretty sketchy and makes you want to find out what happens

Leave a Reply

