How to Get a Better Workout on the Elliptical

The elliptical is my favorite cardio machine to do at the gym. It is basically what I do every time I go. I  am by no means an expert or anything like that but I thought I’d share how I use this machine and what works best for me.

My headphones got in the way because I was trying to be sneeky taking the picture because I feel like its frowned upon, but I still think it looks pretty cool like that.
My headphones got in the way because I was trying to be sneeky taking the picture because I feel like its frowned upon, but I still think it looks pretty cool like that.

Okay, so what I like to do and I highly suggest it, instead of just getting on and going on “quick start”, is to take a few extra seconds and set up the personal trainer. There is normally a button right on the pad that says “personal trainer”, keep pressing that guy until you find an option that you think you should do. The one that I normally do is “personal trainer x – aerobics” because I think that it is both fun and challenging at the same time.

This setting basically is like a cycle where it goes through all different things that it wants you to focus on such as:

  • Focus on pushing the bars
  • Focus on pulling
  • Go at your own speed without hands
  • Go at least 6 mph
  • Go between 3-4 mph
  • Go at your own pace
  • Stop and go in the opposite direction

Going through all of these phases will not only keep you occupied because if you are anything like me and my short attention span it keeps me on my toes and excited to change it up. Normally after a little while I would just get bored and want to get off. This way I am working out much longer.

Other than it being more fun, you are seriously getting a full body workout and burning calories to the max. Since you are focusing on going at different speeds your heart rate is constantly changing and getting more oxygen into the body.

If you are putting in the work and pushing and pulling, you will be able to feel it in your arms by the end of your workout. AND don’t  get me started on “stop and go in the opposite direction” my legs burn just thinking about it. You will be sweating in no time and feeling like a superhero.

This is just what I found has worked for me the best and the way that I feel like I am most comfortable but I think that it is also really fun and an awesome workout.

No matter what you are doing at the gym, just remember…

IMG_2021

Sometimes going to the gym can be intimidating just you just have to remember that everyone who is there is there for themselves. No one else really cares what you look like or what you are doing. If anything, they respect you for actually being able to get up and go to the gym. Not that many people do!

What is your favorite thing to when you workout?

2 thoughts on “How to Get a Better Workout on the Elliptical

Leave a Reply

