Confused about College


  Hi guys!

So, last night I was randomly motivated to go on a research spree looking for potential colleges/universities to transfer to with decent programs in Information Technology. In a little over a month I am going to be graduating with an Associates Degree in Computer Information Systems and I have never been so scared in my life because I have no idea what I want to do.

Up until recently I have always said that I wanted to just try to jump into the workforce and job hunt to find a job in my field but lately I just feel like there is just so much more to learn and for whatever reason I just don’t feel like I am ready yet. I just need to learn more I feel like I have just barely touched the iceberg.

I was looking into getting my Bachelor’s degree online because a) if I am already working with computers mind as well right? b) there aren’t really any schools remotely near me that offer a BS in my felid (except for one that is really good and I’d really love to go to but I would literally be hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt and I’m not really abut that life)  and c) kind of getting on the point I just made is that it would be so so much more cheaper ooh, and d) because with online learning I can go at my own pace and potentially earn my degree faster.

As of right now I am kind of leaning toward doing it online and possibly working at the same time, hopefully working doing something that is relevant to what I want to do at the same time. Hopefully, if everything turns out okay.

But does an online degree look as good on a resume?

I spent hours looking for potential schools both online and in real life and I found a few that I thought were really good but pretty much I am clueless about the whole thing not having a counselor to hold your hand the whole way and tell you what the best thing to do is. I really don’t know what to do, I mean who know if I will even get accepted?

It is even more stressful because pretty much everyone has their stuff figured out and is accepted to the next school or has their plans on track and I am just so late to the game pretty much because I have never in my life been sure what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. How does anyone know that? I will never understand those magical people who just know everything about the future, that is something that is just way too hard for me.

I meant for this to be my I post which is “internships” but all of this came out first and since it is kind of relevant and on my mind I will do another post after this talking about internships, since that is also something that happened on my “research spree” last night.

If any of you have any idea what I should do or what would be best or just have any advise in general I would love to hear about it!

6 thoughts on “Confused about College

  1. Hi Tori! I have no idea where you live or anything, but you should look into usability programs, like the Experience Architecture major at Michigan State University. Usability and user experience goes really well with any kind of computer work, and honestly any work at all, because it’s all about researching your audience or users and making sure your product fits what they want. Usability as a field of learning is growing pretty fast, so if you can’t come to MSU, there should be other programs around, and you may be able to find something similar at one of the online universities. Let me know if you need any help in your search! 🙂

Leave a Reply

