My TBR Jar

tbr

Hello there!

I have been wanting to do this for a while now and have finally gotten around to it!  For the past I don’t know how long I have had my TBR (to be read) list just on a piece of paper folded and sitting on my desk. Today was the day that I made a TBR Jar and put the titles inside so that when I finish a book and want to start a new one, I simply choose a paper from the jar and that is the book that I am going to read! Woo hoo!

Here’s how I made it:

20150716_195238

So, I found a little mason jar at the store the other day and it was so cute! It is like the size of my fist and I thought that it would be perfect for this and make a nice TBR jar! Also, I thought that it would look good sitting on my desk.

I took out some markers and colored pencils and paper and made a little design and taped it onto the jar and Walllahh!

I thought that it came out pretty cute.

Then I cut up some pieces of paper and put the names of the books that I want to read in the near future.

I currently have 12 books in my jar and also a few pieces of paper next to it in case I come across another potential good read.

20150716_200741

Here is what I put inside: (in no particular order)

  1. The Murder Complex – Lindsey Cummings
  2. These Broken Stars – Megan Spooner
  3. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson
  4. Alive – Scot Sigler
  5. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – Holly Black
  6. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
  7. Going Bovine – Libba Bray
  8. The Lunar Chronicles – Melissa Meyer
  9. Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins
  10. Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
  11. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Sàenz
  12. All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

So these are the books that I am super stoked to read! I like the idea of randomly reading them but I have a feeling that when it comes time, I will choose and then put it back like three times until I get the book I “want”… if you know what I mean. I’m going to try not to let that happen, but we’ll see how it goes.

I am really excited to review these books as I read them so stick around for those reviews in the future!

If you have read a really stellar book recently, let me know in the comments below and I just might add it to the jar! 🙂

❤ Tori

13 thoughts on “My TBR Jar

  1. Came over from Suzie’s Blog Party – Love the idea – I should do that. Because I usually buy books and put them in stacks, but then I move the stack, because they get too high. If I had a jar, I could put the books in the bookcase and pull the title out of the jar and then go find the book. Simple – but brilliant!!!!

  2. Love it! Here’s another DIY project that revolves around a jar: a memory jar. Write down any happy memory (or other emotion!) and stick it in the jar. Whenever you feel down, reread the slips of paper. A lot of people start this on New Year’s, but I personally think it’s okay to start whenever you want.

  3. Hi – I’m visiting from Suzie’s blog party! I’ve used a TBR jar – it’s a great way of making sure certain books don’t keep falling to the end of the queue 🙂

  4. […] Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner. This was the book I chose out of my TBR jar. I still haven’t gotten that far yet but it is pretty decent. I plan on reading today and […]

Leave a Reply

