Book Review: These Broken Stars

This was the first book that I pulled out of my TBR Jar and turns out I really quite enjoyed it a lot. Once I actually got into it, I flew right through and had a lot of fun reading it, there was sort of a mystery attached to it and I just wanted to read more and more.

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is the book I’m talking about today.

The best way that I know how to describe this book is that it is a mix between Titanic and Lost. Though, I have yet to see Lost (I know how good it is and the general premise of it and will most likely watch it on Netflix in the future) I can see similarities in it.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man and all of the galaxy and also the man who build the Icarus (AKA the biggest and best spaceship there is, similar to the titanic right?) and Tarver is a Soldier. They are both aboard the Icarus along with 10,000 other people. Ship falls out of hyperspace and crashes (titanic) Lilac and Tarver end up in an escape pod together and manage to safely land on an abandoned planet. Alone. Now is where the weird things happen. Lost-y things occur and Lilac encounters “The whispers”. These whispers are pretty weird and can do some interesting things. I am not going to talk more about those guys because  to me that was the most intriguing part of the book and I don’t want to spoil it!

Lilac and Tarver make their way through this abandoned planet together in the hopes of being saved but the longer they are there the more they see a life together on the planet and no longer want to go back to real life.

I feel like I have revealed too much but also I haven’t even said anything yet. Yeah, it is one of those amazing kind of books.


One thing that I really liked about this book was how it was being told. I really liked how every other chapter it switched points of view between Lilac and Tarver. They are both such different and complex characters and I really liked being able to be inside of both of their minds. I also thought this book was interesting to read because it only had those two characters in it, which makes sense, because you know, they are all alone on a different planet.

If you have been following me for a little while you can probably see this coming but…. Character Development!

In the beginning of the book, I was kind of nervous because there didn’t seem to be much there, boy was I wrong.

These characters grow and change so much during their journey through the planet and weirdly enough I began to relate to them. I would compare myself to to how they were handling things and I could relate, especially Lilac. At times though, I definitely could understand Tarver too.

Also at the beginning of the book, I was really confused about the setting. I felt like I didn’t get a very good idea about what the ship was like until after the crash. And then when we got to this planet, I kept wanting to read about more of the imagery about what it was like. I felt that there wasn’t enough imagery and I found myself filling in the gaps of that I thought their surroundings would be like. I just sort of assumed that because of “terraforming” that mean that it looked just like Earth but I really wanted it to be a little tiny bit more unique. As I kept reading I got a handle of the setting though, that or my mind just adapted.

Moral of the story: Keep reading because it gets really good!

As a whole, I really enjoyed this book a lot. I thought it was different and I am glad that I read it. It has been two days now since I finished and I still notice myself thinking about Lilac and Tarver.

I really recommend you guys to give this book a try if you are looking for a new book to read!

Have a suggestion on what I should read next or put into my TBR Jar? Comment below and let me know!

❤ Tori

Leave a Reply

